Board of Trustees

The primary role of the MMS Board of Trustees is to promote the mission, best interests and long-term goals of the school. The Board establishes the school’s strategic vision and hires the Head of School. The Head of School is responsible for the operation of the school and for implementing the strategic vision. The Board is predominantly comprised of parents of current MMS students. The Board also considers alumni parents for membership as well as individuals outside the immediate school community who have specific expertise relevant to the board’s goals.

Our school’s governance plan is dictated by its bylaws, which follow models of best practice established by the National Association of Independent Schools. These mandate that the Board consist of between 10 and 25 trustees. The trustees volunteer their time, usually serving up to three two-year terms. The Board typically meets five times a year, including an Annual General Meeting in the Spring which is open to parents and faculty members.

The 2018-2019 Board of Trustees are:

  • Jim Maffezzoli, Board Chair
  • Gerardo Rodriguez, Vice President
  • Nicolas McKee, Treasurer
  • Alison Horton, Secretary
  • Brenda Mizel, Head of School
  • Dana Alpert
  • Brettne Bloom
  • Alvin Crawford
  • Sarah Farivar-Hayes
  • Claudia Hamilton
  • Carla Hargrove
  • Anne Hayes
  • Pim Kraaijeveld
  • Philip LaMariana
  • Ivy Lapides
  • Monique Neal
  • Libbie Rice
  • Sharon Schuur
  • Mark Sladkus
  • Thomas Vitiello
  • Zoe Vlachos
  • Fred Wang
  • Jen Wekelo

Much of the board’s work takes place in committees and task forces. In 2017-2018, the committees and task forces are: Executive Committee, Head of School Support Committee, Trustees Committee, Audit Committee, Finance Committee, Investment Committee, Engagement Committee, Development Committee and Marketing Committee.