MMS Board of Trustees

The primary role of the MMS Board of Trustees is to promote the mission, best interests, and long-term goals of the school. The Board establishes the school’s strategic vision and hires the Head of School. The Head of School is responsible for the operation of the school and for implementing the strategic vision.  The Board is predominantly comprised of parents of current MMS students.  The Board also considers alumni parents for membership as well as individuals outside the immediate school community who have specific expertise  relevant to the board’s goals.

Our school’s governance plan is dictated by its bylaws, which follow models of best practice established by the National Association of Independent Schools. These mandate that the Board consist of between 5 and 25 trustees. The trustees volunteer their time, usually serving up to three two-year terms. The Board typically meets five times a year, including an Annual General Meeting in the Spring which is open to parents and faculty members.

Much of the board’s work takes place in committees and task forces. In 2012-2013, the committees and task forces were: Executive Committee, Head of School Support Committee, Trustees Committee, Audit Committee, Finance Committee, Investment Committee, Building Committee, Development Committee, Strategic Planning Task Force, Compensation Task Force, Marketing Task Force, and Facility Planning Task Force.


Executive Committee

Jim Maffezzoli, Chair

Lesya Lysyj, Vice Chair

Anthony Ianno, Treasurer

Brettne Bloom, Secretary

Brenda Mizel, Head of School


Shikha Bhakoo

Richard Briffault

Patrick Ciriello

Martina Diedrich

Anne Hayes

Nicolas McKee

Libbie Rice

Jessica Rothstein

Sharon Schuur

Jeffrey Seller

Mark Sladkus

Marc Thomas